Advisory Committee on Trauma

The 1999 Legislature created the Advisory Committee on Trauma (ACT), generally following the recommendations in the 1998 Plan (K.S.A. 75-5664). The ACT is advisory to the Secretary of Health and Environment on the development and implementation of a statewide trauma system. The ACT is composed of 24 members including representation from physician organizations, the hospital association, the state nurse association, and EMS organizations. Of the 24 members, two are legislators, one is a representative of KDHE and one is a representative of the Board of Emergency Medical Services. Members of the committee have significant expertise and commitment to EMS and Trauma Care, and represent both urban and rural interests. The ACT is charged with directing the development and implementation of the Kansas trauma system, including:

  1. Take a lead role in development of a statewide template for injury prevention.
  2. Provide oversight and guidance to the RTC (Regional Trauma Councils) for system evaluation, education and training programs, and public education and prevention strategies.
  3. Monitor availability of resources statewide, assure compliance with system standards, and work in conjunction with the KDHE to develop a process for review of trauma care.
  4. Evaluate patient care outcomes at a system level.
  5. Develop a process to assure trauma centers outside the State of Kansas are fully incorporated into the Kansas Trauma Plan to assure access and mutual aide programs are in place.
  6. Analyze the impact and results of the system and make recommendations for change as appropriate to assure quality outcomes.
  7. Assist KDHE in developing and monitoring legislative initiatives as appropriate.
  8. Identify funding sources for all aspects of the emergency medical and trauma system.


Meeting Minutes

Advisory Committee Quarterly Meeting Schedule

02/3/2021 9:00 AM – 12:00 PM Microsoft Teams
Join on your computer or mobile app
Click here to join the meeting
Or call in (audio only)
Meeting Packet
05/5/2021 9:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Microsoft Teams meeting
Join on your computer or mobile app
Click here to join the meeting
Or call in (audio only)

Phone Conference ID: 584 961 721#

Meeting Packet
08/4/2021 9:00 AM – 12:00 PM    
11/3/2021 9:00 AM – 12:00 PM    


Advisory Committee on Trauma Members

Name Organization Term Expires
Dr. Stepheny Berry (Chairperson) KMS June 2023
Dr. Craig Concannon (Vice Chairperson) KMS June 2021
Dr. Michael McClintick KAOM June 2024
Ms. Carol Perry KHA June 2023
Ms. Tina Pendergraft KHA June 2021
Awaiting Appointment KHA June 2020
Ms. Darlene Whitlock KSNA June 2024
Ms. Janet Kemmerer KSNA June 2023
Awaiting re-appointment KEMTA June 2023
Mr. Jeffrey Boss KEMSA June 2024
Dr. Maria Beermann-Foat EMS Adm. June 2024
Mr. John Hultgren EMS Adm June 2021
Awaiting Appointment SW RTC Rep. June 2021
Ms. Kris Hill SC RTC Rep. June 2021
Stacy Trester SE RTC Rep. June 2023
Dr. Michael Machen, awaiting re-appointment NW RTC Rep. June 2020
Dr. Justin Klaasen, awaiting appointment NC RTC Rep. June 2023
Dr. Wael Khreiss NE RTC Rep. June 2023
Dr. Dennis Allin Board of EMS  
Senator Ed Berger Public Health and Welfare  
Senator Barbara Bollier Ranking Minority Member,
Public Health and Welfare
Representative Tory Marie Arnberger Health and Human Services Committee   
Representative Christina Haswood Ranking Minority Member,
Health and Human Services Committee